Saint Mary's College of California Library

modern languages and literature

Modern Languages and Literature Multisearch:


 Advanced



Finding Articles

 

Academic OneFile  (SMC only)

A good general starting place. Large collection of articles in a wide range of subject areas.

 

 

MLA International Bibliography   (SMC only)

The most important index for students of languages & literature. Produced by the Modern Language Association of America. Indexes journals in modern languages, literary criticism, folklore, and linguistics. Advanced search options allow qualifying searches by literary genres, time periods, etc.

 

 

Essay and General Literature Index   (SMC only)

Indexes essays published in anthologies & book chapters, rather than in journals. Covers a wide range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences.

 

Project MUSE   (SMC only)

Full-text access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other presses. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

 


Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)  
(SMC only)

Full-text access to dissertations from 1997-present; abstracts for those from 1980- ; citations only for 1861-1980. Dissertations can be a useful source of detailed bibliographies & surveys of the secondary literature in a field.

 

 

Indexes of Literary Texts

LitFinder  (SMC only)

Online access to more than 150,000 full-text works including poetry, short fiction, novels, essays, plays, and speeches; more than 800,000 additional citations for poetical works published in collections. LitFinder also includes biographical essays, topic overviews, work overviews, photographs, and a glossary. More than 80,000 authors are represented, from hundreds of nationalities and genres.

 

Granger's World of Poetry   (SMC only)

Index to poetry in anthologies, including full-text and excerpts of poems

 

 

Book Review Sources

 

MLA International Bibliography   (SMC only)

 

Book Review Index  (SMC only)

 


Author Information

 

Literature Resource Center  (SMC only)

 

Biography Reference Bank  (SMC only)

 

Biography Resource Center  (SMC only)

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library   (SMC only)

 

Gale's Literary Index (Online)

A master index to the Gale Literature Criticism Series.

Search Author, Title, or Nationality to figure out which volume has relevant articles, e.g.:

   Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (Ref 809.02 G131)
   Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (Ref 809.03 L712)
   Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (Ref 809.034 N622)
   Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (Ref 809.034 T918)
   Contemporary Literary Criticism (809.04 C767)
   Hispanic Literature Criticism (Ref 860.9 K929)
   Drama Criticism (Ref 809.2 G131)


Saint Mary's College of California Library