Saint Mary's College of California Library

history

US History Multisearch:

 Advanced



World History Multisearch:

 Advanced



Major Databases


America: History and Life   - Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts   - Made up of indexing, abstracts, and full text covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

 

Other Databases


Biography Reference Bank  - Combines the complete content of Wilson's Biographies Plus Illustrated with the complete and enhanced content of Biography Index Plus.
Biography Resource Center  - Biographical information on more than 165,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all subject areas.
Academic OneFile  - An excellent source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Provides coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts,, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
HAPI   - Indexing, with some full text, of over 500 journals relating to history, culture, politics, and ethnic studies of Latin and Central Americas, as well as histories of issues relating to Hispanic ethnicities living in the United States. 1970 to the present.
OmniFile FT  - Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.
JSTOR   - Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage varies by journal title, generally to within a few years of current publication.
Project MUSE   - Full-text access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other presses. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education and more.
New York Times (Historical)   - Full text of the New York Daily Times from 1851-1857 and the New York Times from 1857 to four years ago.
History Resource Center  - Provides background information on many issues for world history. Includes articles, primary sources, biographies, and maps (when applicable).
Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)   - Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester; those published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Includes full text online for dissertations issued 1997-to the present and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

 


Saint Mary's College of California Library