Saint Mary's College of California Library

Art

To find journal, magazine, or newspaper articles related to art, art history, and architecture, the following article databases are recommended.

 

Art Multisearch:


   Advanced

(searches the datebases below simultaneously)

 

ARTbibliographies Modern 

Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Full coverage begins in 1974 when the first volume was digitised, but entries date back to the late 1960s.

OmniFile FT 

Multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content from six of Wilson's full-text databases: Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.

 

Academic OneFile 

Academic OneFile indexes nearly 13,000 academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and reference sources, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and more than 5,000 in full-text (HTML and PDF). Coverage is multidisciplinary, including the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature, and other subjects

 

Project MUSE  

Full-text access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other presses. Disciplines covered are humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

 

JSTOR  

Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage varies by journal title, generally to within a few years of current publication.

 

Another option is to use the following resource to search for doctoral dissertations or Masters-level theses on your topic. 

Dissertations and Theses (Proquest)  


Saint Mary's College of California Library